INTERVIEW: Griffen Palmer Discusses His Debut Album, Unlearn

Big Loud’s rising star Griffen Palmer is giving fans a first taste of his music with his debut album, Unlearn

For those unfamiliar with Palmer, he’s a songwriter first, with cuts with Jade Eagleson, Keith Urban and MacKenzie Porter. Since signing with Big Loud, he’s released numerous singles, accompanied Lily Rose on her US nationwide tour and performed at the 2023 CMA Fest. 

Last April, the singer-songwriter released Unlearn, a record that is best described as encompassing what it means to be young and in your ’20s. Consisting of 10 pop-infused tracks, the record explores relatable themes & experiences such as falling in love with the one, personal growth and more—all while maintaining fresh perspectives. As he shares,

“This record brings together 4 years of writing songs. I wanted the record to feel like me, so I chose songs that were key to who I am as a person. I set out to write the best songs and this was the result” (Palmer, Griffen).

Evidently, Palmer is proud of the record and happy to be finally sharing it with his fans.

Featured: Official cover art for Griffen Palmer's debut EP, Unlearn. Courtesy of Big Loud Records.

Each of the tracks were co-written by Palmer’s longtime collaborator, GRAMMY-nominated creative & songwriter Geoff Warburton (Shawn Mendes, Machine Gun Kelly, 5 Seconds Of Summer)– quite the heavy hitter to be involved in your debut album. 

“We’re from the same hometown. I met Geoff at a random house party, his girlfriend (now fiancé) mentioned being there with a songwriter and introduced us–I was working at a restaurant at the time. So we were buddies writing songs before this– we’ve written hundreds of songs and were getting ready for the record. He adds, “It’s great to collaborate with a friend on a project and have it all come together. That’s what makes it fun and all worth it” (Palmer, Griffen).

Further adding to the star-studded team, the whole record was produced by Joey Moi (Jake Owen, ERNEST, HARDY)– Big Loud’s resident multi-platinum-selling, award-winning producer.

The album opens with “Second Guessing,” where Palmer is casting away all doubts. He knows he found the one and is focusing on the present moment– letting go of all his overthinking in the process. This is followed by “25 To Life,” in which he sings of a head-over-heels protagonist who’s willing to commit to spending the rest of his life with the woman he loves. Then comes the title track, “Unlearn”. It’s an interesting one because it sheds light on the pre-existing traumas, patterns and behaviours we bring into a relationship, and how we have to ‘unlearn’ the negative ones to make a healthy relationship work.

Up next is “Put Me Through Hello,” a song about that ex that doesn’t quite let you move on with every ‘I miss you’ and ‘R u up?’ text they send. By The Way” is also about an ex, only this time said ex has seemingly moved on so easily while Palmer sings of still being in love with them. Then there’s Small Town After All,” which presents the challenges that come with breaking up in a small town. After all, it’s much harder to move on when you share mutuals and the same hangout spots with your ex.

“Came Here To Leave,” opens in a bar, setting the stage for a couple that can’t wait to sneak out of the social function to have some time alone together. “Late To The Party” is a fun one, where he tells the story of meeting the person who could be the one and wishing they had met sooner. In “How Many Beers,” Palmer finds himself heartbroken, wondering how many beers he needs to drink before he’s over his ex. Palmer closes off the album by contemplating where the night is leading them in “Bottles On The Table,” wondering if there’s more to it than just drinks. 


Out of all 10 tracks, “Unlearn”, “By The Way” and “25 To Life” would be my standout picks. Conceptually and lyrically, each of these songs brings something to the table. That’s not to discredit the rest of the record, which does a good job of introducing Palmer and the brand of country he wants to share with the world. If you’re going through a breakup & trying to move on, falling in love for the last time or simply in a period of pivoting in new directions in your ’20s, you’ll find comfort in the tracks on this album.

You can also listen to Palmer’s latest release, “Heart Of Exes” HERE.


  1. Second Guessing (Griffen Palmer, Corey Crowder, Ester Dean, Andrew DeRoberts, Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Shane McAnally, Ben Simonetti, Ryan Tedder, Geoff Warburton)
  2. 25 To Life (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
  3. Unlearn (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
  4. Put Me Through Hello (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
  5. By The Way (Griffen Palmer, Jordan Reynolds, Geoff Warburton)
  6. Small Town After All (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
  7. Came Here To Leave (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
  8. Late To The Party (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
  9. How Many Beers (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
  10. Bottles On The Table (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)

*Produced by Joey Moi


*This article is a release “From the Vault,” and is based on a Spring 2023 interview with Griffen Palmer. Updated information has been included to introduce a fresh & relevant perspective.

Listen to Unlearn Now:

Stay up to Date with Griffen Palmer:

Works Cited

Griffen Palmer. “Unlearn.” Spotify, Big Loud Records. 2023.<>.

Hornebuckle, Chris. “Featured: Griffen Palmer. PC: Chris Hornebuckle.” Photo courtesy of PR Team. Accessed Apr 2023.

Palmer, Griffen. Interview. Conducted by Kyla Pearson, Apr 2023.

PR team.“Griffen Palmer Learns to Unlearn Today”. Apr 28 2023. Press Release.

Unknown. “Featured: Official cover art for Griffen Palmer’s debut EP, Unlearn. Courtesy of Big Loud Records.” Graphic courtesy of Big Loud Records. Accessed Apr 2023.

Related Posts

INTERVIEW: Hunter Jordan Discusses His New Country Summer Anthems and Announces Opening for Platinum-Selling Artist Tyler Farr at Buffalo River Jam

Nashville-based country artist & songwriter Hunter Jordan is a name you should know.⁠

Hunter Jordan is an example of an artist who is determined to make his dream a reality and doesn’t shy away from investing the time in developing his craft required to make it happen. Earlier this year, he hit the ground running with his solo project with the very successful release of “Dark,” which he then followed up with “Something To Pray About,” just in time for Mother’s Day. On June 28th, the rapidly rising artist released his “surprise 3-pack” of summer singles consisting of “REDNECK WHITE & BLUE,” “THROWIN’ SHADE” and “DOWN FOR THE GET DOWN” –with the 3rd track marking his 5th release this year.

Read More

Q & A: SirLockeHolmes Discusses His Artistry & His Latest Single, “Outlaw”

Hailing from Evans, GA is independent artist SirLockeHolmes.

In a niche all his own, his music tastefully blends country, pop, folk and hip-hop. On July 5th, he released his latest summer banger, “Outlaw”. Within the first two weeks since its release, the track has been spun over 58K times on Spotify alone– adding to the collective 5M+ digital streams within his discography on the platform–which is an impressive feat for an unsigned artist this early in his career.

Recently, I spoke with SirLockeHolmes about his artistry, his latest single and more.

Read More